I don’t think that kindness is a weakness

We’ve had some terrible news today about a friend of ours. I really don’t know how to write about this so lets just start off as normal with a recap of today.

I accepted a challenge from my brother-in-law to do a circuits class with him while I was off work. We did that this morning – he picked me up at the criminally early time of 7.15 and we were all done and dusted by 8.30. Hard work but good fun.

View from the bathroom window this morning. Did Not Want To Leave The House.

I then headed off into town via The Park (which was where the gym was), trying out my new skateboard on some of the wide gentle paths.

After taking in the sky mirror,

bimbling round town for a bit and sneaking a look at the Occupy camp,

I headed into the coffee shop at Waterstones where I bumped into J’s friend P. We had a bit of a natter then I met my friend L and we had a bit of a wander back round The Park admiring the gardens and the caves (The Park is built on a sandstone hill). Then onto lunch with J and our friends D, D and S. Just as we were nearing the end of lunch we got a call from our friend K down in Swansea.

That call was to tell us that her husband Rej had died in his sleep in the night. Rej had been ill for some time with an inoperable tumour and had known since June this year that there was nothing the doctors could do. We saw him just a couple of weeks ago and he had deteriorated considerably but it was still a shock and a great sadness to hear the news. Rej was the kindest and gentlest man we knew and was a big part of lives. We will miss him terribly. I wrote a letter to Rej when we found out his illness was terminal and I’m glad we had that chance to tell him how much he meant, not just to us but to everyone that knew him. He always stood up for what he believed in and was an activist against injustices happening all over the globe – the world will be a poorer place without him.

This song is for you Rej – with love

About nonameexists

One of those healthy outdoor types
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment